Weekly Writing Challege: Power of Names

So, WordPress apparantly does these weekly writing challenges, which are pretty cool.  This week is even more cool, because it has to do with names.  Names have been swirling around my head like a bunch of busy bees lately.  I am so concerned with picking the RIGHT name for our little bean who isn’t even a bean yet!  So, this challenge is pretty relevant, even though it’s more about me and my name.  Anywho, here are the questions that have been asked:

The power of names

For this week’s challenge, we’re asking you to explore your history with names. What meaning does your name have to you? What power does it have over you? Do you have a nickname when you are at home, but not in the world at large? Or vice versa?

Need some help getting started? Here are some prompts:

  • Do you like your name? Why or why not?  I love my name.  My mom had specific reasons for naming me what she did, and it helps me stay connected to her.  Plus, my two names (first and middle) roll right, which I feel is very important.
  • Have you ever legally changed your name? Describe the experience.  Only when I got married.  I love my names so much, that I was devastated when I had to choose between dropping my middle name or dropping my maiden name, since all four names wouldn’t fit on my new Social Security Card.  Now, I’m a little thankful, since I don’t have to sign all 29 letters of all four names.
  • How did you choose your child’s or pet’s name?  I’m working on that right now.  We aren’t even sure if it’s a boy or girl, so the name changes on a daily basis.  My basic requirements are: 1. It must be meaningful. 2. At least one should be a tribute to our baby’s family.
  • Growing up, did your parents have their own nickname for you? Why? Would you do this with your children? They called me Rugrat.  And yes, I plan on using this.
  • Did you go to school in a different country where the standard of names is different? What was your experience with this? Nope.  Born and Bred in the USA.
  • How many names do you legally have? Why? Where did they come from? I have three.  The first two came from my mom, and the last one from the man who swept me off my feet.
  • For our fiction writers, show us the power of names. Is it the name of an object, person, or place? What power does the name provide?  I don’t write fiction, but names in books are important to me, because they help me build a mental picture about the person or place.
19 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challege: Power of Names

Leave a Reply

