Hobby Lobby, Reproductive Rights, and My Soapbox Message

So, as most everyone has heard, Hobby Lobby has won their case to deny free contraceptives to their employees.  Now, I don’t really have an opinion on contraceptives, especially since I have my own form of birth control (no tubes=no surprises).  What I do have an opinion about is this:

Why is the ability to have free contraception a right, but to have even some type of coverage for reproductive assistance not a right?  Let’s think about this for a second.  I, a woman of childbearing age, wants desperately to have a child.  My inability to have said child is by no fault of my own.  So, I have to get medical assistance to achieve the quality of life I feel I need.  I even have a diagnosis, which, according to WHO in November 2009, is an actual disease.  So, because I have a disease, shouldn’t I have the ability to receive care?

On the flip side, as a woman of child bearing age, had I not had fertility issues, and had I chosen not to procreate, then, at no cost above my premiums, I can make sure that never happens.  I can choose to not become pregnant.  Unfortunately, I can’t choose to become pregnant unless I pay for it myself.

So, while scanning my Facebook newsfeed, I stumbled upon a photo shared by a friend that was originally posted by the Center for Reproductive Rights.  The photo states, “This fight isn’t over. Contraception is MY business.”  Huh, I thought.  If they are fighting for women’s rights to get free contraceptive, then maybe they’re also fighting for us to get free fertility assistance.  So, off I went to their website, hoping to find something encouraging. 

When I got there, I saw right away the link, “Our Issues”.  Ah, this HAS to be where I would be able to find out what they’re working on.  *Click*.  Sigh.  Nope, nothing about trying to MAKE a baby, only issues on trying to STOP or GET RID of a baby.  Again, assisted reproduction seems to have been forgotten.

I went back to their Facebook, and decided to send a message to the organization.  I haven’t received an answer back (it’s only been less than half an hour), but I’ll update this post when I do.  Here’s the message in it’s entirety:

Hello. I saw your post about Hobby Lobby’s Supreme Court win and, it made me wonder, what is your organization doing about the fact that 1 in 8 couples are struggling with infertility, and WHO has determined infertility a disease, yet, insurance companies still fail to cover treatment? Especially since the Affordable Care Act came into play, the 15 states who had mandates for fertility coverage has decreased at least by 1, since Arkansas chose to use a plan model that did not follow their own state mandate. I’m just concerned that, when people discuss reproductive rights, they forget that it should also be a right to choose to get pregnant, not just choose to not be pregnant.
 
Let’s see what happens.  Sometimes, I really like to stir the pot a little.  I really hope the person who is tasked with reading Facebook messages is someone who can actually answer this question.
 
❤ Heather
6 thoughts on “Hobby Lobby, Reproductive Rights, and My Soapbox Message

  1. Thank you for your viewpoint. As a woman who has not yet tried to have children (but who very much appreciates my free birth control at this point in my life) I had not considered this side of the argument. I do know that my work insurance covers very limited fertility treatments….which has made me nervous for my future when I want a child. I shall join you on your soapbox…because I agree these issues go hand in hand. Some are arguing the right to birth control not even as a contraceptive, but as a medicine for other issues (terrible periods, hormone regulation, etc)…and if you view it as a treatment, then I totally agree fertility treatments should be covered.

    Like

  2. The media as a whole is calling this a birth control issue. From what I am reading though, the only thing that this court ruling addressed was those types of contraceptives that are considered “abortive” (the morning after pill, or Plan B) and some inter-uterine devices that if you get pregnant, “terminates” the pregnancy right after it happens.The court case didn’t address (to my knowledge) normal methods of birth control such as pills you take every day.

    All that being said, I wholeheartedly agree with Hobby Lobby and other businesses that fall in this same category. I completely understand your situation and agree that insurance should cover fertility treatments in cases like yours. I also appreciate the fact that women like you can make some of the greatest adoptive parents in the world!

    I am all for women’s rights, but not at the detriment of human life. I don’t think that we can honestly say that it’s ok to take the life of another just because you want to. Babies, no matter how small they are in the womb are still human life.

    Thank you so much for sharing your story!!

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment!
      For my own choice, I choose not to ever consider abortion, even before I had fertility problems. What I don’t agree with is other people thinking they can make that decision for me, or any woman/man. I know women (myself included) who have had to end a pregnancy because it was life threatening or non-viable. I also know women who have chosen to end a perfectly fine pregnancy. Under some of the new laws that are being lobbied, because I had to end an ectopic pregnancy, I could be viewed as a person who had an abortion. It’s such a touchy subject that many times focuses on only one aspect of the “choice” part. When having a child is no longer a choice for a couple due to infertility, it’s frustrating to know that we are being left in the dust while everyone else is focusing on the choice to not have a child.

      Like

  3. Very interesting viewpoint! I happen to be on the side that an employer shouldn’t have to violate their own morals to fund certain kinds of birth control (let’s not forget, they are only not wanting to pay for the abortifacients). But I also see your viewpoint that some fertility treatments should also be covered as a basic medical care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

